Annual Scholars’ Conference

March 7, 2021

The University of Texas at Dallas
Virtual Event

Founded in 1970 by Franklin H. Littell and Hubert G. Locke, the ASC provides an invaluable forum for scholars to discuss and advance Holocaust research, ensuring the valuable lessons of the Holocaust remain relevant for today’s world.

On March 7th we continued the important legacy established by Franklin H. Littell and Hubert G. Locke more than fifty years ago. Rather than a traditional multi-day conference, this year’s ASC featured three distinguished speakers who addressed the past, present, and future of Holocaust studies.
Click here to learn more and watch the recordings of these lectures.

11am CST – Ackerman Center Distinguished Lecture:
Dr. Yehuda Bauer, 
Denial and Distortion of Holocaust Memory
Professor Emeritus of History and Holocaust Studies at the Avraham Harman Institute of Contemporary Jewry at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Academic Advisor to Yad Vashem.

2pm CST – Michael and Elaine Jaffe Lecture:
Dr. Mehnaz Afridi, “
Shoah Through Muslim Eyes”
Director/HGI, Holocaust, Genocide & Interfaith Education Center, Manhattan College

5pm CST – Mitchell L. and Miriam Lewis Barnett Lecture:
Pieter Kohnstam, “A Chance to Live: A Family’s Journey to Freedom
Holocaust survivor and member of the Board of Directors for The Anne Frank Center for Mutual Respect

Information from the 50th Annual Scholars’ Conference, March 7-10, 2020:

2020 Final Program
Thank you to our generous sponsors

Click here to read the article about the 50th-anniversary conference from our annual newsletter.

Information from the 49th Annual Scholars’ Conference, March 2-4, 2019:

2019 Final Program
Thank you to our generous sponsors

Information from the 48th Annual Scholars’ Conference, March 3-5, 2018:
2018 Final Program
Thank you to our generous sponsors

In the News:

  • The press release about the 2018 Annual Scholars’ Conference can be read here.
  • A NewsCenter article about the Conference can be read here.
  • A feature article in the Texas Jewish Post can be read here.
  • TV and radio personality Scott Murray interviewed Ackerman Center Director Dr. Nils Roemer and immediate past president of the Annual Scholars’ Conference Dr. Marcia Sachs Littell on the upcoming Annual Scholars’ Conference. Listen here.

For questions about the Conference, please contact Cynthia Seton-Rogers at 972-883-2724 or email [email protected].

For questions about sponsorship opportunities, please contact Holly Hull Miori at 972-883-4119 or email [email protected].